Aussies Living Simply

using Cob on my house

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    lucy4lucy4

In our home we have no insulation in the walls and it is concertboard like fibro cladding.So it is costing a lot to us and the enviroment to heat and cool.

I was looking for a cheap ,easy and quick way to solve the problem.

I was thinking of covering the walls on the outside of the house in Cob.That way myself and the kids could do it too.

We did think about cladding in stone but DH would have to do that and he is short on time.

So does anyone have an experience with this?

would it be cheap and easy?

Any tips welcome 😀

I’m no expert with cob, but doesn’t it require extra wide roof eaves over it to afford protection from times of excessive rain?

drdreaddrdread

and exceptionally good foundations to take the weight!!!

sawcement another way to go, labour intensive, but less problems with foundations

searching the net is the way to go

mt ben idea is good if you are handy,:D

factor in the cost for your proposal and barter for labour?

RobyneRobyne

check out th enew governments idae of getting all houses insulated might save you a lot of money

kiwimamakiwimama

I don’t think cob would work like that, sorry. It needs to be very thick, it’s heavy, and I think you’d have trouble getting it to key onto the walls anyway. It would probably be easier to start over and build a cob house from scratch!

But you might be able to do something with strawbale. What kind of footings does your house have?

Hmmm … other ideas … If you need more space too, could you add an extension to the side the coldest winds come from? If it was properly insulated, or built from an insulating material like strawbale, it could make a big difference.