Skip to toolbar

Aussies Living Simply

strawberry plants are getting old – transplant needed?

Home Forums FOOD PRODUCTION, HARVEST AND STORAGE Fruit, Vines, Nuts and Sprouts strawberry plants are getting old – transplant needed?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    sabinesabine

i’ve read about transplanting the runners of strawberries to keep the viruses of your main bed in check – but i would’ve thought that the runners also would be infected. but buying new plants every few years isn’t sustainable… this is my first time to have strawberry plants and they are looking in need of freshening up so i’m going to transplant next week. is this neccesary? what do other people do?

peace,

sabine

bushybushy

I’m no expert on stawbs, but always had good success. Every year I’d start a new patch by transplanting, using the FIRST plant on the runner (called a sister plant), if you use the others it will take 1 or 2 seasons to produce well. Can keep old patch going until fruiting slows.

TamandcoTamandco

I’ve read a whole heap on this subject. Can’t remember where though but they were very specific in recommending the following.

Buy your disease free plant to start with and plant it somewhere isolated from your proposed strawberry patch. Don’t use a runner from another plant.

Harvest runners off this plant, and don’t allow any of it’s runners to establish. I can’t rembember what it suggested about the fruit from this plant.

Plant the runners in another location. Use these to harvest fruit only. Don’t harvest runners from these, and from memory I’m pretty sure it suggested just to let the runners go, don’t worry about cutting them off.

<muttering to self “Now where’d I get all this from? Gardening Australia? Might check their website.”>

forestforest

I agree with the above, if you start with virus-free plants and have no problems with disease while growing them, you can take the runners off.