Aussies Living Simply

Starting up Home Brew again….

Home Forums HOMEMADE Brewing and winemaking Starting up Home Brew again….

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    kitty74kitty74

My Darling Husband used to be quite proficient at home brew, but when we moved house many years ago he “lent” all his gear to someone and has never seen it again…. He wants to start up again, so has been looking around for a kit to start up with again. Most kits seem to have quite a small capacity – he wants something around 60L for less than a hundred dollars. At the moment he is trawling ebay (having rung our local home brew shop and got prices from them) – does anyone have any other suggestions for a good way to start up on a budget?

browniebrownie

A large plastic garbage bin would be the cheapest option. Despite what some people might tell you, beer doesn’t have to be brewed in an air tight container. I have been brewing for 18 years and gave up on air tight seals about 17 1/2 years ago. You should still keep the lid on though. The only other thing you’ll need is a length of hose to bottle with.

See how some Pros do it 🙂

From Here

kitty74kitty74

Thanks Brownie!

Anonymous
    Inactive

Brownie,,,

I’m liking your style… The one thing that has put me off brewing beer is the setups my friends have and how complex they are, … I want a system that is low maintenace and doesn’t need to much of my attention … It doesn’t have to be the “best” beer,.,. Just thirst quenching 🙂

FeeglesFeegles

So.. can you brew a Guinnes type of beer at home?. If so I am soooo definately getting into beer making.

marzmarz