Aussies Living Simply

Renewing old furniture

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    KasaliaKasalia

Been raining all day thank goodness so catching up on forum stuff. Last year I started painting old furniture, hopefully there are others who do it as well, but anyway here are mine so far still an ongoing chapter, suddenly I want everything white lol, maybe as I get older cant see as well.

Before cupboard given to me FREE

After my magic treatment

And decorated

This next one had a ply back so we changed to a regency board, this is a built in my husband did probably 20 yrs ago or more.

Painted, love Antique White USA.

I left it some brown to blend with the wood plank walls and is next to the above one also. Slowly filling it with my amber and green china, and a few old knick knacks.

It is in a very awkward photo taking area but hopefully you can tell. Started another one, but if you repurpose show me yours.

mudhenmudhen

They look great, Kasalia! I have an old wooden wardrobe that I picked up off the side of the road a couple years ago that my husband would love me to repurpose!! I must order the paint today and just get down to it. It looks pretty terrible at the moment, as I’ve been trying to strip it back. I’ve found a woman in Tasmania who is manufacturing Milk Paint and I’m keen to give that a go. Strong fumes give me headaches, and I’m hoping this sort of paint will be gentler on me and the environment.

http://www.youngandmay.com/

I’ll pop on some photos when I have before and afters.

pennypenny

Mud Hen there are recipes for milk paints on line. I can’t remember how I found them or I would post the link for you. The paint that was made was beautiful and the family painted the whole house with their own paint, wood, walls the lot.

mudhenmudhen