Aussies Living Simply

New property – just can't live there yet!

Home Forums OVER THE BACK FENCE Property Tales New property – just can't live there yet!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    AshilleongAshilleong

G and I have managed to find our dream property, after a mammoth interstate search.

I post occasionally, but not regularly, mostly keeping an eye on the ‘recent’ tab and contributing now and then. I love the idea of simplifying and have been taking small steps to do so. We bought a house in Perth a few years ago, but had to move to a minimg town for work (I’m a teacher, my husband is a trainee geologist), which meant having lodgers in our Perth house. It’s interesting when people post about ‘landlords’ and how they are pushing people out of the housing market as I don’t feel that way at all. One of the couple in our house is in a wheelchair and they spent a year and a half trying to find a house to live in as they have a modest income and a surprising number of people won’t rent to someone in a wheelchair due to a fear of wall damage. They get cheap rent as they are only lodging (but get to use the house on their own most the time as we get home rarely) and we get someone keeping an eye on the place. Recent trips down have turned me off living in the city – it feels like everything is getting…nasty.

Anyway, after a few years of living in the desert, we went on holiday to the Northern Rivers area of NSW – and it felt like releasing a breath you didn’t know you were holding in. I totally fell in love with the communities and villages. It took two years, but we finally found the place of our dreams – 5 acres with a creek running through. The house needs work, but I don’t think I would have been happy with something that was ‘perfect’