Aussies Living Simply

managing red backs naturally??

Home Forums FOOD PRODUCTION, HARVEST AND STORAGE Pets and Native Animals managing red backs naturally??

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    patrice

Hi, I’m new to australia and have just moved into my new home in Perth and am quickly becoming overrun by redbacks. I am desperately trying to stave off my visiting father from spraying them but we are a bit scared with small kids around and no idea what else to do, all opinions and advice welcome

Anonymous

g’day patrice,

this a bit way out, but encourage other web spiders around might look untidy at times. usually those black and brown house spiders you see around.

the red back won’t fight for a nesting site, that simple

the only other way find a red back use twig the twirl spider and web and eggs into sort of ball and burn the thing. non chemical way and gives encouragement to those other spiders to move in.

kill the spider kill the eggs

len

patrice

Len, that’s very helpful thank you so much, are there any other ‘harmful to human’ spiders around Perth i should not be welcoming as a house guest?

BlueWren

Welcome to Australia ……… and more bitey’s than you’ve possibly ever met before, but don’t stresss too much! :hug:

I don’t often advocate spraying but red backs can be nasty with little kids around poking their fingers everywhere, or for adults too of course.In a new property with an infestation I would call in the pest people , perhaps just the once , to gain a bit of conrtol , and then remain vigilant thereafter.

Also, keep the yard free of clutter , and check under garden chairs regularly.

I would imagine there could be other spiders to look out for in Perth – Oz is spider heaven!

Do you have somewhere where you could move out while the spraying was happening? I know it’s tricky weighing up the pros and cons of spraying.

Anonymous