Aussies Living Simply

House cow recommendations?

Home Forums FOOD PRODUCTION, HARVEST AND STORAGE Backyard livestock House cow recommendations?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    GirlFriday

We just bought a little block and are looking for a house cow…what would ALSers’ recommendations be? :shrug: Ideally I would like a quiet mannered cow who is a good mother and easy to milk. A dairy/beef cow would be good so we can raise the calves up for the freezer. I have a family of 6 and have many friends who would be DELIGHTED to share REAL milk with us. 😛 What breeds/ age etc? We have three acres that would be hers alone (well to share with the chooks and the geese), a dam, good fencing and a shed/ yards for shelter and milking.

I remember our house cow when I was a kid was a hereford x dairy breed and she was a good cow and gave us plenty of milk.

Apologies if this post sounds funny but I am a complete newbie :woohoo: when it comes to cows other than what I remember from being a kid (which seems like AGES ago!)

gypsyoak

With 3 acres I would be going jersey or dexter. Apparently buying a cow who is already used to being milked and handled is the way to go. Naturally i bought a 3 day old calf instead and handraised her…..lol then the perils of pregnancy and going o/s..haven’t got her in calf yet. lol

Steve

gypsyoak post=327783 wrote: With 3 acres I would be going jersey or dexter. Apparently buying a cow who is already used to being milked and handled is the way to go. Naturally i bought a 3 day old calf instead and handraised her…..lol then the perils of pregnancy and going o/s..haven’t got her in calf yet. lol

Oh Gypsyoak, I’ve got a horribly twisted mind. I was going to make some smart alec comment about you not being able to get her in calf…… :whistle: :whistle: :whistle:

gypsyoak

:laugh:

mauzi

Hi Gypsyoak,