Aussies Living Simply

fruit trees

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Jenoka77

Hi everyone, as stated before I’m very new to this. I have started sorting out my flock of chickens and ducks. I have the vegie garden started with winter vegies such as garlic onions raddish beetroot broc cabbage and spinach. I have a bed sorted for strawberries and blueberries. Now my next task is an asparagus andd dwarf fruit tree bed. I’m in a cool mountains climate. A valley just at the end of the blue mountains. What fruit trees should I grow. I was thinking lemon lime cherry plum fig and apple. Any suggestions.

kerrieb

Plum, fig, cherry, apple probably Ok. Most stone fruit and pears as well could be doable. ? on the frost in the area. If you have heavy frost the citrus might struggle especially the lime.

Mukluk
    Participant

We have an orchard here with most types of cold climate trees. Fruit fly is terrible here, as is coddling moth, and pruning takes me weeks due to the large number and poor layout of the trees. We have frost here, citrus do not do terribly well unless you protect them. Even then they get a lot of pests as the trees are not strong enough to fend them off. I think over the next few years all my citrus may well die off, I am not terribly bothered by that.

I have been told that cherries and plums need another variety to pollinate them. I can’t speak from experience though as I have always had multiple types or been close to neighbours who have other types growing that would have pollinated mine.

Sometimes it is nice to grow a few things you can not get in the shops (as well as some things that you can such as apples and figs). I would start with easy to grow trees that give a lot of fruit with not too much effort on your side.