Aussies Living Simply

Experts – HELP how to trim allowance?

Home Forums SIMPLE SUSTAINABLE LIVING Spinning, Dyeing, Knitting, Sewing, Weaving Experts – HELP how to trim allowance?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    darls

I am making my daughter a tunic dress atm and I am stuck with this one-sentence instruction! And googling hasn’t helped!

“Trim allowance on neck edge to 3/8″ (1cm) wide.”

What does this mean and what am I supposed to do???

I am about to put the bias strip around the edge of neck but am not sure what trick I need to know.

The similar instruction repeated further in steps:

“Trim allowances on armhole edges to 3/8″ (1cm) wide.”

Sighs… I NEED pictures to guide me better than written instructions… :shrug:

Thanks in advance! :hug:

Michelle-sm

You need to trim the seam allowance to 3/8″ so that the bias strip will cover the seam/edge properly.

Sorry can’t help with pics.:shrug:

Noodle

Hmm well I’m no expert, but I think it means trim the edge of the material to be 1cm from the seam.

(You may have sewn 1.5cm in from the edge and just need to reduce the amount of extra fabric a tad).

The allowance is the bit between the seam and the cut edge of fabric.

darls

How do I do that when I haven’t sew on the bias strip? OR am I supposed to sew on the strip then trim?

I think I’d better type up the whole instructions for the neck edge/bias strip:

“Fold bias strip in half lengthwise, wrong side facing in. Press. Trim allowance on neck edge to 3/8” (1cm) wide.

Finish back edges of yoke. Turn allowances on these edges to outside and pin. Baste bias strip to neck edge, right sides facing, with open edges lying on allowance. Stitch bias strip to neck edge with 3/8″ (1cm) wide seam. Trim seam allowances and clip curves.

Turn bias strip and allowances on back edges to inside, baste, and press. Topstitch 1/4″ (0.7cm) from neck edge, thereby catching the bias strip.”