Skip to toolbar

Aussies Living Simply

Carobs and Figs

Home Forums OVER THE BACK FENCE Swappers Central Carobs and Figs

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    earthworm42earthworm42

Hello all,

I have been growing carobs for close to 10 years and have finally transferred some of my heirloom varieties from my parents farm down to the Peninsula.

The varieties I have are Sfax, Clifford, Tandanya and my own varieties that are now beginning to crop.

There are many carob trees on the peninsula but most are male or wild stock. I’m happy to give anyone grafting wood to get a crop. if a carob is planted correctly on the peninsula they will reach the water table in about 3 years and be self sufficient. If anyone has any questions please pm me.

****************************************************************************************************************

FIGS – food of the gods

I recently met an Italian gentleman with a garden to die for. Apart from the 20 year old carob he has a huge collection of fig varieties which I suspect are mostly heirlooms.

Due to space I’m now in the process of multi grafting varieties onto my own trees. Anyone who wishes to have cuttings , graft wood or more information let me know. If you know of ANY trees that are unusual/heirloom and wish to share cuttings please contact me.

This is one of my favourites

🙂

Regards

E42

GothmotherGothmother

Thanks E42,

I would be interested. what do I do with graft wood to get carob to grow? I would also be interested in some fig cuttings from any you think would do ok in Central tableland NSW.

Many thanks

Neroli

earthworm42earthworm42

Hi GM,

graft wood is the same principle as with fruit trees. you graft a small bud or piece of a known variety onto an existing tree. you need an existing carob tree in this case to graft onto.

this gives you a known variety /flavour and yield and as the wood is mature should start producing in a few years.