Aussies Living Simply

Beekeeping Equipment – Advice Please

Home Forums FOOD PRODUCTION, HARVEST AND STORAGE BEE Keeping Beekeeping Equipment – Advice Please

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Bel

Hi all. I recently launched into beekeeping, buying 2 hives for our property. The only problem is, I know nothing about beekeeping (yet!). I know I need to buy some basic equipment – suit, gloves, hive tool, smoker at the minimum. I’d also like to buy a good beginner’s book. Any and all advice on the topic would be great, thanks, particularly if you know of any good books. I’m thinking of buying this beginner’s equipment from ebay – thoughts?

Bee Equipment

redhen2

Hey Bel. We bought some hives some years ago, but the bees decided to live elsewhere. still not over that.

Anyway, the advice that i got at every turn was to join a local group of beekeepers. advice on tap and all of that.

lavman

Hi Bel

I’m new to bees also, I was advised to purchase this book which I refer to a lot, as for the kit, the hive tool doesn’t have the hook on one end so I am not sure how you would lift the frames up with it :shrug: sorry I’m not much help, I have been watching to see what the experienced bee keepers have to say.

I don’t know how to hyperlink so you may have to copy and paste:

http://www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/aboutus/resources/bookshop/bee-agskills

It worked when I posted, wattayaknow.

Bel

redhen – I don’t think I’d get over it if ours moved either! I paid a pretty penny for these hives and I’m hoping they stay put!! I’ll try to join the local beekeeping association ASAP.

thanks for the input lavman – busylizzie recommended the same book, so it must be a good one. I’ll try to get hold of it. My uncle told me today over New Years lunch that he has some beekeeping equipment! Looks like I’ll be getting some equipment for nothing, which is great!

penny