Skip to toolbar

Aussies Living Simply

bee keeping record cards

Home Forums FOOD PRODUCTION, HARVEST AND STORAGE BEE Keeping bee keeping record cards

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    ruthyruthy

Just been reading about the benefits of keeping good accurate records for hive inspections. What records do other bee keepers use here? Im guessing the obvious is brood, weather, honey, pollen etc. I would love to hear what info you record and how useful it has been. I am new to bee keeping and have one hive with italian bees in our garden. Im planning on making up either a diary or little index cards at weekend and dont want to fall into the trap of buying record cards on internet.

SnagsSnags

I used to freestyle with my bees,no records kept.

busylizziebusylizzie
    Participant

I use a couple of A4 Lecture pads to keep our records, which include

date, what was sighted, eggs, grubs, brood, Queen, pollens being bought in, honey stores, diseases (none here), when and if you requeen, I number our boxes (we have 14 hives) then each box has a letter, A being the bottom brood box, then b, c ect. Also how much honey is taken out and when. Things like this are helpful to make sure your bees remain strong and you keep a good eye on them, especially to stop any swarming. If I get behind in our records it becomes confusing to what was going on with what hive.

Enjoy your bees.

🙂 Lizzie

ruthyruthy

Thanks busylizzie thats really healpful info. Wow 15 hives. I guess its a commercial business either that or your sure like honey! Have either of you kept bees following the top bar method? Been reading about it and it sounds wonderful!

busylizziebusylizzie
    Participant

Hi Ruthy

Not commercial, just a sideline business to compliment the jams & produce I sell at market/farmgate sales.