Aussies Living Simply

A year without shopping…

Home Forums SIMPLE SUSTAINABLE LIVING This Simple Life A year without shopping…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    liz_gcmama
    edensgate

I could do it, but my husband couldn’t.

lenny

I think it would be the same in our house Jodie. Although we don’t have great 2nd hand shops either, so some kids clothing (eg school uniforms) would be hard to find.

dancier

Bike parts are the only problem for me but I have three of them so I could just share the load between each. Otherwise no problems.

forest

I’ve been doing this for over two years. It feels really good not knowing what’s in the shop anymore. :tup:

seachanger

Like Forest, this isn’t too far removed from what is our normal way of life. Essentials – yes…..everything else is either unnecessary or you can do for yourself and recycle or reuse. Suppose it is a step forward for these people though…should be more of it!

peterh

What a great idea for a TV reality show. Throw in a range of properties from a few acres to surbuban blocks, make them all water friendly (tanks,recycling sytems etc) and self sufficient in power as much as feasible, to show it can be done, keep them out of the consumer merry go round and showcase to the world you can live a prosperous and sustainable lifestyle. Doubt we get a corporate sponsor though:|

sapphire

lol yes it sounds like the way i live too .. maybe i could swap with them for a year and become a super consumer !!

i have never understood the need to keep up with the latest trends let alone the neighbours or the bigger or better or replace because a new one came out

it is great to see people thinking and doing for themselves and not blindly believing what the tv and advertising tells them they need

i wonder how many younger people know that light globes can be made to last for years and years and years .. but they are not available because then you would only buy one set